Treasury Thursday :: living in America

So, after a short break, I am back with a new week of Treasury Thursday. It’s always a fun surprise to see what suggestions I get from the challenge I post on my Facebook wall and this week was no exception – so many great ideas.  I couldn’t possibly choose, so I wrote all the idea on slips of paper and had my kiddo choose one.  So…

The one he picked was from Masako at Sock Sock World!

Her suggestion was:

America or USA. I am looking for unique gifts for my family overseas. 🙂

Thanks to her, we get to take a moment to stop and appreciate the place we call home.  I mentioned in an earlier post that I work with students who come from all over the world to attend the university where I work and I always ask them how long it’s been since they have been able to visit wherever their home is.  It never ceases to amaze me when their answer is two or more years; often due to student visa issues or just a matter of finances.  So, with that in mind, Masasko, I hope this treasury gives you some ideas for some gifts you might send home to give a glimpse of life here and how much your family at home means!

Before moving on to the treasury itself, I just have to tell you about Masako. I  She is a wonderful person to be connected with; she is present, pleasant, and so positive, so friendly. It always makes my day when I log-in to Facebook and see that she has connected with one of my posts.  I get the feeling that it would be easy to sit down over a cup of coffee and have an easy, comfortable conversation with her.  Ok, and her shop on Etsy is just the best, you have to stop by and see for yourself.  She designs and creates the most adorable sock animals of all kinds. Whales. Kangaroos. Dogs.  Platypuses. Otters. Adorable and soft, they are perfect as gifts for the small set, and even the bigs.  Not too long ago, I wrote to her and sent a photo of my dog to see if she could create a sock animal for my son for his Easter basket. She did an amazing job creating a soft version of our dog Stuart

In the photo I sent, Stuart had his tongue sticking out like this, and she took the time to capture not only that detail, but also the color of his collar and included a tag with his initial that she hand stitched…and this was all after making sure she had the right kind of fuzzy sock to use to match his crazy hair.  Meet some of her other wonderful Sock animals, in the shop now!

Find Sock Sock World on Facebook, Etsy, & Twitter and you will feel like you have a new friend. I do!  Now, on to the treasury…hope you enjoy all things U.S. of A. and find some inspiration and appreciation of all the freedoms we enjoy!  View the Treasury here or below…


Enamel flower brooch Vintage…

$7.00

Vintage map gift tags, six r…

$3.00

Linocut Print – 8×10 USA Air…

$22.00

Mohawk Zebra with Red Heart …

$22.98

Vintage Suitcase Set of TWO,…

$34.99

Not All That Wander Are Lost…

$15.00

Before the storm Original la…

$199.00

Women’s T-shirt, Thoreau…

$18.00

50 Red, White and Blue Strip…

$8.00

Eco 13.5 inch Laptop Bag Pad…

$35.00

Sakura Stitch Marker Keeper …

$11.50

Memorial Day Flower Hair Cli…

$6.00

I Love America Gift Tags

$4.00

High Waist American Flag Sho…

$35.00

Red/White/Blue 4th of July P…

$42.00

Button Magnets, Red, white a…

$19.50

{ cheers }

2 thoughts on “Treasury Thursday :: living in America

  1. Hey there…thanks! Was a fun treasury idea to have as inspiration. And yes, how we all connect in that ‘interwebs’ way is so great, and that there is that overlap on pals is sweet! And yes, Masako is such a gem! Have a glorious weekend!

    Like

  2. Fabulous! I think I can take credit for connecting you and Masako and that makes me quite happy. My facebook etsy pals are now facebook etsy pals. Sweet! Love sock sock world (oh, the argyle platypus I gave my great niece was too cute for words) and love the treasury too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

