Tellin’ it like it is

Sometimes, kids have the best perspective on things.

I’ve had this on my desk at work for at least the last 8 years…

Mother’s Day was just last weekend, and while I made my claim on some m.e. time to relax and do things all non-mom related, I also managed to persuade my kiddo to let me ‘interview’ him.  I guess I had a little extra clout for the day.

The funny part was when he said, ‘what for, what are you going to do with this?‘  His reply to my answer was even funnier. I said I wasn’t sure, just that I had some questions and it would be fun to ask him; ya know, have a special little chat on mom’s day. He wanted to know if I was going to video him and put him on YouTube and how many hits he would get.  He’s 8.  { Hmmm. Guess it wasn’t about me having some extra clout, after all. Sigh… }

I let him down easy and said nope, no YouTube, but maybe I would put it on my blog, like I did his cartoon tv show and his eyes got big and wide. I took that as a yes.  So here we are; my interview with my son, on Mother’s day.

When have you been most afraid?

When I got stung by a bunch of yellow jackets when I was 2

What was the happiest day of your life?

The day I went to the water park with my cousin Matt

If you could change one thing in the world what would it be?

Mining should only be legal for the President; and he can give people permission to mine, because everyone would take all the gold, and then everyone would be trading things, everything would technically run out and everyone would starve to death.

If you could change one thing about yourself?

Not  to have as many freckles

What is the one thing you could not live without?

Stuart {my dog}

What is the worst thing about being 8?

Not being able to make many decisions

What is the best thing about being 8?

Having a dog

Describe your perfect day

Wake up early, play video games, play sports, play with my neighbor, whack some baseballs, ride scooters, shoot hoops, go back inside and play video games, go to bed really late.

What would be the job you want to do when you grow up?

Anything that requires building

Who are your best friends and why?

Henry, Parker, Aidan T and Leo  – becaues they have a great sense of humor and they all don’t like the same things as me and it’s a life learning lesson that everybody doesn’t like the same thing.

What does Mom always say to you?

I love you

What makes mom happy?

Bright colors

What makes mom sad?

Dark, sad and violent dark colors

What  does mom do to make you laugh?

By singing I’m sexy and I know it

How tall is mom?

6′  tall?  I don’t know,  5′ 8″ ?

What is mom’s favorite thing to do?

Hang out with me

What does mom do when you are not around?

Watch TV or use the computer

What is mom really good at?

Crafting

What is mom really bad at?

Minecraft the video game.

What does mom do for her job?

Works at a college

What is mom’s favorite food?

Lasagne? Butterscotch soup  [translation: butternut 🙂 ]

If mom was a cartoon character, who would she be?

The mom in Good Luck Charlie, if she changed her hair to yellow

How are you and mom the same?

We both like techology stuff

How are you and your mom different?

Mom is not good at builidng things but I am

How do you know your mom loves you?

Because she always says she loves me

If you could go anywhere, where would you go?

China

What is your favorite food?

Pizza!!

If you could go anywhere for just one day, where would you go?

Do laser tag all day

If someone gave you $100 how would you spend it?

Save it until I had $500 to buy an iPad 2

What’s one thing you wish you could do but can’t?

Drive a car

If you could speak another language, what language would you choose?

Chinese

What is the one food you wish you never had to eat again?

Lasagne

What is something you would like to learn how to do?

Master computers, how to make an iPod

What is one thing you wish your grandmother’s knew about you?

That I am  a happy and playful boy

If you could learn how to use a tool, which ones would you want to learn how to use and what would you make?

A hammer and a saw, so  I could  build a table

If we could go away for a weekend to anywhere, what would you pick?

San Francisco

If could write a book, what would it be about?

A dog getting lost and finding a new dog and then the lost dog finding his way home.

What is the weirdest thing about you?

I want to walk my cat on a leash.

Want to keep track of all the awesome things your kid(s) or the small set in your circle proclaim? Check out this awesome book, My Quotable Kid.

{ talk to a kid, and get some perspective }

4 thoughts on “Tellin’ it like it is

  1. That is adorable Bonnie! Makes you realise how small the world is through a kids eyes 🙂 What an intelligent and thoughtful young man you have! Happy Mothers Day xx

    Like

    • Hey Becc! Thanks…and yes, thankfully their world is still small – though it gets bigger every day. I think I want to interview him on a regular basis – great way to get some insights 🙂 He’s a crack up – that’s for sure! Hope your Mother’s Day was perfect for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

