These Summer Nights

Have I mentioned that I love summer?

Because I do.

It.Is.My.Favorite.Time.Of.The.Year.

Hands down.


 There is just more time in the day and less pressure this time of year.

That’s a great combination.

Easy dinners with corn on the cob, big red tomatoes and fresh basil.

Popsicles on the porch.

And evening walks and scooter rides.  I could get used to this.

I told my son yesterday that we are in the sweet spot of summer.

“What’s that?” he asked.

I explained that summer is here, it’s ready to be enjoyed and still early enough to savor all the summer that is still to come.

It still seems like a long time before it’s over.

Kind of like this.

Here It Comes
Here comes summer
Here comes summer
Chirping Robins, budding roses
Here comes summer
Here comes summer
Gentle showers, summer clothes
Here comes summer
Here comes summer
Whoosh-shiver there it goes
Faith Long

He totally got it.

 { hope you are savoring your summer! }

24 thoughts on “These Summer Nights

  1. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you will be
    a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and
    definitely will come back at some point. I want to encourage that you continue your
    great job, have a nice day!

    Like

    • Thanks David…glad we are on the same page. I will still take it, even with our 106-107-108 heatwave we are in the middle of! Just talked to a friend in NY and she said it’s hot for you too. Stay cool!

      Like

  2. All you all are making me hungry. I gotta get some Roma toms, basil, mozz, olive paste, basalmic vinegarette, and put it on slices of baguette. And listen to some stories from the neighborhood on your porch. How ’bout some watermelon popsicles?

    Like

    • Go shopping already, get your summer veg+fruits goin’ on, would ya JoBro! I say yes to the watermelon popsicles on my front porch…let’s invite the whole ‘hood!

      Like

  3. Summer is when everything seems to come to life again, Bonnie. What a beautiful post 😀 We are in winter here but I haven’t really noticed now I’m in the tropics 😉

    Like

    • Dianne..yes it is! The one time I got to visit Australia, was in December – 3 weeks. I had a great visit and have an image I will never get out of my mind. I had just arrived after a 15 hr flight, sick as sick, and my friends let me sleep for hours. When I woke up they took me down to what I remember as some kind of promenade on the waterfront in Sydney. I didn’t bring my camera, because I was so out of it! But, when I saw a group of grown men, in Santa pants, boots and hats – but no shirts, but tan/sunburned beer bellies..well, I didn’t need my camera to remember that! It was such a fun contrast of seasons for me!! Enjoy the tropics!! 🙂

      Like

  4. Bon!! Our mind-meld continues!! I just bought some basil and tomatoes, too. That flavour combination has always tasted like summer to me. YUM.

    Like

  5. Yum, yum, yum to summer! You’ve captured it wonderfully. Focused on enjoying every moment because you are so right – it will have come and gone before I know it! Thanks for the great post!

    Like

    • Hi Vicki…thank you so much! Those slow summer nights just capture the perfect essence for me and wish it lasted for so much longer. But perhaps the sweetness is partly found in knowing it’s special and fleeting – calling us to stop and appreciate! Enjoy your summer too! 🙂

      Like

  6. I’m trying hard to delay the ” whoosh-shiver, there it goes” for as long as possible! Summer is just too short when you live in the northeast. Enjoy yours!

    Like

    • Kathy, I know what you mean…it seems that once the 4th of July has come and gone, that “whoosh-shiver” comes faster and faster! Savor every moment of your summer, push that delay button 🙂 Enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

