Oh my, blogging goodness – speechless update!

So, today, I am totally speechless. Which is a bit backward for a blogger, right? Let me try to explain. If I can.

It makes the most sense if you read the post from yesterday {below}  if you haven’t already…and then pop over to visit Truth and Cake again.  What I didn’t include when I shared her amazing response to being Freshly Pressed was this small important detail she included:

As an added bonus, I’ll peruse your posts and choose three that resonate with me to feature on Truth and Cake next week. Instant fame! Instant fortune! Okay, just a lot of love and warm fuzzies. I look forward to reading your fantastic posts. Have a great weekend!

In the end, the response to her invitation was amazing and there were over a hundred posts to enjoy and experience, all of them amazing, honest, funny – and everything in between.  So, head back over to Truth and Cake today, and you will see why I am in fact speechless. And amazed. And honored. And Smiling from Ear To Ear.

Rian, you are one of a kind and we are all better because of you.  Copious amounts of gratitude to you, and hats off,  Ten Gallon Hats off to you!

 

 

Posted 7.16

Last week was a big week This week is a big week in blogland – at least from my perspective.  I feel privileged to have witnessed a remarkable occurrence, a mini movement you might say.

When someone reaches success – it’s easy to sit back, soak it all in and just revel in the attention.  What would you do if you were Freshly Pressed?

Last week, one of the bloggers I have been following the last few months, was Freshly Pressed on WordPress, for the second time.  She is completely deserving, her posts are insightful, thought provoking, and always leave me thinking and considering things in a whole new light. I feel expanded, challenged and at the same time, somehow comforted when I am done reading one of her posts. Like when you have one of those great conversations with someone and find yourself thinking about it for days after. Feeling like you just connected with someone who can meet you on a level that doesn’t happen all the time.  When I saw an email arrive with her latest post, and that it was something to do with being freshly pressed, I assumed it was going to be a post about her excitement or gratitude about the recognition.  Which would be so fitting.

And, it  was. But, it was so much more at the same time.

Rian, from Truth and Cake, turned the spotlight right around and turned it into a party for all of her readers, with a simple, but profound, invitation,

“I’m inviting you to Freshly Press yourself”

and gave us all some simple guidelines for how to do just that, right there on her blog.  Imagine a party, where everyone is talking, everyone is listening, and while the conversation never stops,  everyone feels heard, everyone feels that their voice is welcomed. She shared her motivation behind it all:

“I want all of us to succeed as bloggers.”

So simple, but in a world with so much competition, it was unexpected, fresh, new, reassuring.  She took her success and in one easy turn, created a movement among her readers. Everyone started visiting each other’s blogs, but it kind of felt like folks were stopping by for coffee or tea, right? I felt a sense of community and dare I say, something  a bit kindred?  I found new blogs with voices I like, bloggers new to me found mine and expressed that they found some resonance here. In my opinion, that is success here in this blogging space. Comments left for me over the weekend, on a post I hemmed and hawed about even posting in the first place, were ones that shared they found something they related to.  Isn’t that why we are all here?

Others shared in their comments about fears of getting it right, while others commented about learning that it’s not what everyone else thinks that matters and sharing their own reasons for blogging, and most importantly the realization of the importance of just writing for themselves.  I think most of us can relate to that!

Aren’t we all in good great company?! So, my hat is off, in admiration to Truth and Cake for sharing her success with us, for connecting voices that weren’t before, for raising the bar for all of us, and for having a vision that I happen to find refreshingly revolutionary.

But wait there is more!

{ I told you it was a big week in blogland! } Earlier in the week, another one of my favorite bloggers did something pretty awesome too. It’s remarkable really, the the connections that are formed here. Ever try explaining this to any of your non-blogging friends? It’s really hard to capture.

Paula from Stuff  I Tell My Sister celebrated a halfway point; at the six month mark of blogging she  is a well decorated blogger.  And deserves each and every accolade. She is warm, welcoming, real and supportive.  Oh, and did I mention, fun?  In the same pay it forward, share the spotlight, shine the light on others, way, she passed on the recognition to several bloggers. Amazed to find myself in the midst of some really great company, I am honored to be in the position to say thank you!.  Following the  great examples set forth by these two amazing ladies, and in the spirit of blog awards, it is my turn to shine the light on others.  I’m breaking the rules too, and not following the protocol of any one award, but instead sharing with you some blogs I think are worthy of your attention!

I am grateful to have discovered some new territory in blogland recently, there are more I know I will get to know over time, but let’s start here, shall we?

I hope you will stop by each, including Truth and Cake and Stuff  I Tell My Sister  {if you don’t already}  and listen for a moment; I am sure you will find that you hear some great voices…

Borrowing from an earlier post, I am glad to have my little blogging world be ever expanded, and to each I say…

Ps…

2 thoughts on “Oh my, blogging goodness – speechless update!

    • Thanks so much! You set the stage, so beautifully, for all of us. I am not alone when I say thanks! Very happy to have met you too, I look forward to learning more from you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

