Kindness in 30/20 vision

Today I ran to ‘church’.

And I listened to this. And prayed for everybody.

And in case you are wondering, because I think some of you might, yes, I sang. Out loud.

I figured the forest would forgive me; after all, isn’t that part of what going to church is about, forgiveness?

Though, I must confess, singing and running at the same time, at elev. 6500 is not pretty (#gasp).

I’m relieved that running is not just something I used to know;  today I found this spot and  when I returned home to count my miles, I realized that I completed my goal to log 30 miles in 30 days, and realized that instead, I did it in 20 days! Yeah!

I guess it is time to dream a little bigger longer.

I was not alone in this beautiful place [don’t worry, they didn’t hear me singing!] – I wouldn’t have entered the forest, if it hadn’t been for these folks. They live just a house or two from where the sidewalk ends and the forest begins and this is literally their back yard. Can you just imagine…

Not only did they graciously let me run around and play in their ‘yard’, they kindly showed me how to navigate the intersecting trails so I could find my way home.  They took the time to ask where I am from, shared about living so near that forest when it was engulfed in flames just a few years ago and the lasting effects that has. They took the time to ask my name, and we talked about our dogs.  Strangers one minute; kind folks the next.

“I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.”

Tennessee Williams, A Streetcar Named Desire

 

I ran around like a kid at Christmas, and then brought my husband and son back here for a bike ride before the sun went down on our day.

As you probably know, attending ‘church’ also usually includes a sermon of some kind, a lesson, an important message to reflect upon.  I got one. I do believe I needed one.

Sometimes, I hate to admit, I get the wrong idea about someone, and my brain shrinks to the size of a pea and gets carried away before I can remind myself that I’m most likely wrong and most definitely ill informed. That was the case today with a particular person that caught my attention while sitting lakeside. I should have just been enjoying the view, or my book, or both. But instead, I felt myself slipping down a slippery slope and engaged in a ridiculous swirl of self chatter trying to get myself back on the positivity track, (somehow my train jumped the tracks?) – and I knew I needed to climb back up to higher ground.

I scrambled my way out of that mess, and thank goodness, I got there. Because, before I  I knew it, this person was kindly offering the use of her paddle board to my son, [unbeknownst to me, she had noticed him eyeing it and asking us if we could rent one…] and casually telling us some of the history of the area; she even divulged some personal details…just like that, nice as pie.

Perhaps metaphorically, a pie in my face?

I realize in retrospect that my brain shrinks to the size of a pea when I feel small, or insignificant, or insecure.  Even when my big girl head says ‘don’t do that, you know better…”

Those uncomfortable, but all too human emotions…the choices are many and varied for each of us. This woman was my preacher today, and she gave the perfect sermon. She reminded me of an  important message, and trust me, I’ve been reflecting on it, but at the end of this beautiful day…

…I’m so glad I went ran to ‘church’  🙂

Humbled by the stunning beauty all around, both in nature and in people, and inspired by the kindness of strangers, all of which makes me smile.

“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.”

AESOP, The Lion and the Mouse

11 thoughts on “Kindness in 30/20 vision

  1. That song will be in my head all day – and what a great song to have playing there! I LOVE that you sang out loud too!! And we all let our brains shrink to the size of a pea sometimes, but it doesn’t mean you aren’t deserving of the delights you received from the church, this wonderful woman and her generous soul. You’re a pretty special woman – call it karma babe – you received a gift for what you have given somewhere alone the line..

    Like

Leave a Reply

