Play Day

Once a month I meet up with some friends to discuss an issue near and dear to our hearts; we each get time to share or reflect before there is any discussion as a group.  It’s a wonderful haven, this group, and I rarely miss my chance to be in their presence.

Often, one of my friends will begin our  process and get our discussion started with a simple statement, ‘I’ve got nothin‘. We all laugh, because we know it’s coming, but more  because we understand. Sometimes it’s just enough to be there, in the presence, in the midst of something good.

Today, the dog days of summer have me beat, have busted my brain.

But, I like to be here, in the presence of all of you, in the midst of something good.

So, today, I’m afraid, I must admit that I’ve got nothin’ and so instead, I leave you with a question, a thought, something to ponder:

A day without blogging, is like a day without….

…you fill in the blank!

Points awarded for creativity, humor and all around crazy thinking. Or jut from the heart, you don’t have to be funny to play.

I am quite certain that science will back me up in saying that if we play, our brains wake up.

In fact, in the book, Play: How it Shapes the Brain, Opens the Imagination and Invigorates the Soul, the author writes

“Of all animal species, humans are the biggest players of all. We are built through play and built to play. When we play, we are engaged in the purest expression of our humanity, the truest expression of our individuality. Is it any wonder, that often the times we feel most alive, those that make up our best memories, are moments of play.”

Ready to play? 🙂

10 thoughts on “Play Day

  1. mmm…let’s see:
    A day without blogging is like a day without the sunshine, dark and gloomy.
    A day without blogging is like a day without my puppy’s happy tail wag, flat and dull
    A day without blogging is like a day without my evening wine, not smooth and full

    Like

  2. A day without bloggin’ is like a arriving at Sonic Happy Hour…..late….. Or iced tea without the ice….or coconut cream pie with out the coconut….. sorry….I got nuttin, too ♥ paula 🙂

    Like

  3. Hmmm… a day without blogging is like a day without…my morning coffee? Because I get grumpy and have withdrawal symptoms? Yeah, that sounds about right!
    PS the Superfluous Olympic Closing Ceremonies are today, and you’re on the podium! http://wp.me/p2myYW-kS

    Like

Leave a Reply

