Go Boldly or Go Home…Road Trip!

Road Trip – Stop 4: Meet Virginia

Since I left Louisiana last week, my little Triumph and I have made some serious haul! 1,134 miles north, to be exact, up to sweet Virginia, trekking through 5 more states as I wandered along and it took days to get here. Today, I am stretching my legs and meeting up with Gwen, one bold girl, you will see.

I connected with Gwen in the early days of blogging and having a Facebook page and was immediately loving her bold, crazy self. She always had me in a fit of laughter, except when she had me reaching for the tissues with what she called her Friday Letters – a human, insightful look at life and the curveballs, celebrations and otherwise ordinary moments that all come our way everyday. She captured it all in her words and images and I was hooked. And then there was her honest, down to earth, humorous approach to living boldly and how can you resist an honest to goodness real [and often very funny] person? It was one of the early realizations that behind each gravatar and logo are these incredible, realand amazing individuals. Gwen has her blog, called This Bold Abode and a second site called This Bold Girl.

You never know who you will meet along the way, if you just joined the caravan, this summer bloggin’ road trip is all about honoring the connections we find and make through our blogs. The way this virtual visit works is – I asked Gwen some questions just as if I was really pulling up to her driveway and collapsing on her front porch!

But, she beat me to the punch { told ya, she’s bold like that } and she meets me on the porch and makes sure I feel welcome from the get go!

She gets the party started and says,

Hi! I’m Gwen from The Bold Abode

The Bold Abode

and am thrilled to be one of Bonnie’s Summer Bloggin’ road trip stops!

How great is that! Once I get the kinks out, from sitting in that darling little car, I ask her a few questions!


Since this is a bloggin’ road trip, we have to talk about blogging, of course. Tell me about when you got started in blogging – What was it that got you started? Did you think about it for a long time, or did you just wake up one day and think, “I’m going to start a blog”? //I started blogging just barely over a year ago. A friend of mine told me about the Nester, and from Day 1, I was HOOKED. Then, I thought, “hey! I could sooooo do this!”… I had no idea what all was involved and how much time it took or anything.

What would you say has surprised you the most about blogging? // What has surprised me most about blogging? Hmmm…. HOW MUCH TIME IT TAKES….But really? The amazing friendships I’ve made. I NEVER expected that blogging would be so interpersonal. It’s been a great way for an introvert like me to let down her hair and have some fun!  // I totally agree about the amazing and surprising friendships formed through blogging, but nuh-uh! No! You? An introvert? I never would have guessed that, you are always so friendly and easy to talk to, super approachable and well, kinda crazy. In a good way. I never would have guessed that, but I get it, I’m one too.  I just think you are the ‘hipper’ and ‘funner’  version. 

peace-out

Everything has it’s challenges, are there things about being a blogger that just make you say, ugh? Things you put off or just like less than the rest of it? // I really love blogs and blogging, especially designing and building them on WordPress…but sometimes, I just get tired of showing everything I do…so I don’t… Sometimes, I get to feeling like a big, fat, self-absorbed ego-manic looking for attention. When I do, I pull it back and reassess. Take a break. Breathe a while.

I just rolled into your town…how are we going to spend the day?  And, you know I am going to want to stop somewhere for a drink // If you came to town, Bonnie, I’d take you to Rivermont Pizza… It’s amazing! The food is awesome and the atmosphere is totally relaxed… just like me…hahaha. I’d order a G&T, but the Pear Cider is awesome, too…   // Sounds perfect, I love Pear Cider, just had one a week or so ago. The pizza place looks perfect!

So, what do you want to ask me – I’ve been quizzing you! // While we’re sipping our cocktails, I’d want to know how in the bleepin’ heck you got to be so organized? Thanks to you for recommending Workflowy! I’m getting there! //  Oh that’s funny!  I can be super organized about some things, and have a bit of chaos going  on in some other corner. That’s the way I roll, but I really don’t like doing the same thing over and over, I get bored and always try to find a way to create a system or automate things that are repetitious, so I can move on to something where I can be creative, or do something new. So, when I found Workflowy, by a fluke, I loved how it keeps a list going, that I can add to, modify, access from anywhere online, and cross things off! Isn’t that the best part? I was glad when it worked for you.  

So, I’m pretty hungry after a day of driving and I’ve had my fill of fast food and truck stop food. I would loooove something home cooked ; what would you fix for us to eat? //  Then, when we got home, and you got the munchies, I’d make you some Sweet Potato Fries,

sweet potato fries

or some Indoor Smores…YUM.

Indoor Smores


Yes ma’am. I love both of those; wll there be leftovers for the road?

Before I get back on the road, I’m going to need a good cuppa cuppa to keep me awake for the next part of my drive….where would you take me for my java fix? //When you git ta goin’, and need some coffee? I gots nuttin’… Alas, I’m NOT a coffee drinker… I love the smell, but it gives me a freakin’ headache! So sorry, my friend!  // No worries, I am sure I can find a Starbucks with my handy global blogging system :).

Tell me one surprising thing I would find out when meeting you for the first time? //  And when you go, you’ll be super-surprised to find out that I’m almost 6 feet tall…Yes. I’m an Amazon-woman… A She-Ra, if you will..  // No way…I love it! I am almost 6 feet tall also…some people have heart to hearts, but not us, we’d have some serious eye-to-eye conversations!  

she-ra_princess_of_power_229_1280

At least…in my mind…

It’s been an awesome stop – I want to take a souvenir home to remember my visit with you – what should I put in my trunk to take home? //  I can’t let you leave without Virginia Diners Chocolate Covered Peanut Brittle!  // And you think that is going in my trunk and making it home? You’re a funny one, Gwen. 

It’s the best thing in Virginia besides me…hahaha…

I’m heading out of the driveway – you toss me a CD of your favorite tunes to listen to as I roll on down the highway – what is it and what’s your favorite song on it? //  I hope you like the mix tape I made for you, too! It’s got some Weezer, some Mumford and Sons, some {gasp} Katy Perry, some FUN and some Muse. But I can’t help lovin’ I’m a Trouble Maker from Weezer’s Red Album… It’s my theme song.

 

Is there anything else you want to say, I’m heading out, gotta hit the road again! //  Thank you, Bonnie, for stopping by!  I hope your friends will visit me over at The Bold Abode!  Have fun on the rest of your trip, girl!!! Thanks again for having me!!!

I hope you take a minute to drop by and meet Gwen – you can find her at her blog, or one of her other favorite hangouts…

facebooktwitterThe Bold AbodeThe Bold AbodeThe Bold Abode

Or over at This Bold Girl!

This-Bold-Girl-Button

Gwen, I left you a little something to say thanks!

Thank you so much for hosting one of stops on my road trip and showing me such a great time!  It was great to ‘meet’ you and get to know you a little bit better. And glad to know we can look each other in the eye 😉

So, as I roll on down the highway, where am I headed next?

Here is your hint: it has it’s own National Performing Arts center, and was originally called called Ayr Hill.

Thanks for riding along, remember to be bold; and until next time, safe travels of all kinds…

…wheels, heart, mind and soul

14 thoughts on “Go Boldly or Go Home…Road Trip!

  1. Popping over From The Bold Abode to see what Gwen’s up too. I have to question the introvert thing, never would guess that, and I’ve never had pear cider so it looks like I’m leaving thirsty and hungry for sweet tater fries and chocolate covered brittle!

    ~Bliss~

    Like

Leave a Reply

