Going Whichever Way the Wind Gon’ Go…Road Trip!

Road Trip – Stop 5:  Meet Virginia, again

In life, like any good road trip, sometimes you have to be open to surprises along the way and be willing to take side trips to find the hidden gems; be ready to go whichever way the wind blows. Since my bold visit with Gwen last week in southern Virginia, I decided to take it easy and take it slow, and my GBS [Global Blogging System] did a little re-routing for me so that I’d be sure and have the chance to stop and visit Mimi and her Karma Truck. I swear I saw it pass me by at least once or twice along this journey, to let me know good things were just up ahead.

Since my last stop, I’ve logged an easy breezy 170 miles…an easy day by all accounts { even my butt thanks me! } and I never even left the state of Virginia.

This stop along my road trip is unique; when my husband and I were first married, we moved to the DC/Northern VA area for a few years. It was a fantastic adventure for both of us and we have  the best memories of our time living here. [Just would have been nice to know Mimi at that point in time..sigh…] So, for me, I feel a little like I’ve come back to a little bit of home. When we arrived in DC, we had gotten married the week before, packed our stuff, honeymooned on the coast of CA [we thought we’d imprint it upon our brains] and then flew east. Within one week I changed my name, left my job and there we were in a new state, new town, new name, new address, new license places and no job…I was the perfect candidate for the Federal Witness Protection program!

I digress…those stories are for another day, today it’s all about meeting up with Mimi and getting to spend a day getting to know each other a bit. I connected with Mimi in that way only a blog can do…I read a comment she left on my friend Paula’s blog {Stuff I Tell My Sister} and the name Waiting for the Karma Truck just about ran me over. There are a couple of folks I have been waiting for the Karma Truck to make a special delivery to [I know, I know, not so nice, and not Mimi’s intention, I know … ] but my interest was piqued!

So off I went, and upon my first visit, I was hooked; it was her post on what she might tell a younger version of herself. It got me thinking about that and I left my own comment and hinted at doing a post on that and linking back to her…well, that remains to be seen. I’ll get it done Mimi…promise.

In the time since, it’s been such an unexpected surprise to find not only her gentle wisdom, gracefully thought provoking reflections that bolster our spirits, but connect in friendship. I am quickly learning that so many of us talk about how surprised we are at the discovery that real, human, soul-filled and ready-to-connect folks are behind our blogs;  this ‘road trip’ is inspired by that very notion; the idea of connecting beyond the keyboard.

Just to recap, in case anyone just jumped in, my summer bloggin’ road trip is all about honoring the connections we find and make through our blogs. The way this virtual visit works is  – I asked Mimi some  questions I would probably ask her if we really got to meet in person, sitting down together, hanging out for the day  so we could get to get to know each other a little bit better.

So, I have rolled into town and pull up to Mimi’s house, only to be greeted like this

and this

Shh…don’t tell Mimi, but I might not leave at the end of the day…

So let’s go…we got LOTS to talk about [you might want to grab a beverage of your liking…]

Since this is a bloggin’ road trip, we have to talk about blogging, of course. Tell me about when you got started in blogging – What was it that got you started?  Did you think about it for a long time, or did you just wake up one day and think, “I’m going to start a blog”?  //  I started blogging in January of this year.  Having recently crossed the seven month mark, it’s been a fascinating, rewarding and occasionally frustrating exercise.  Initially I thought that WaitingfortheKarmaTruck would be more of a Dear Abby-type forum for people with questions about the workplace, along with some occasional posts about all the other stuff.  Needless to say, the blog quickly took on a life of its own!  I’m not sure if I could even describe what it is about at this point – an olio?  I write what comes to mind and hope that it resonates with others.  // I think I speak for all of us when I say, um, yeah, it does! 

How long have you been blogging now, and what would you say has surprised you the most about it?  // I’m most surprised by the absolutely wonderful people that I have ‘met’ in this community – and my hunch is that in your travels, everyone will respond to this question with similar answers.   The support, humor, intelligent conversation, friendships – I wasn’t expecting any of that at all.  // I wasn’t either and am surprised most every day…and yes! Everyone so far on my road trip has made the same remark. It’s really something to stand back and admire, how we take the opportunity to share ourselves, and then the amazing response that we receive.

Everything has it’s challenges, are there things about being a blogger that just make you say, ugh?  Things you put off or just like less than the rest of it?  // I get frustrated when I feel like my mojo is anywhere other than here, and I can’t get my brain to eke out the simplest sentences about anything.  I have no illusions about my writing ability or lack thereof.  There is some real talent out there – people who will or already have been published, others who should be – and I’m not in that league.  However, I can usually string two thoughts together and those flat days feel just lousy.

What topic/topics do you enjoy blogging about the most?  // It seems that I trend towards discussions about mindfulness – taking ourselves away from our self-centeredness to considering our role in the larger picture.  Does that seem right to you?  If we were sitting here together, I guess I’d ask you what you think I blog about the most?  The easiest material for me is that which deals with management development, since that was such a huge part of my professional career.  It’s the least intimidating subject matter.  Is it the most I enjoy?  Hmm…I don’t know.  //  Yes! And I think you blog about matters of the heart, soul and humanity; and I am amazed how on so many days, it is something I’ve been mulling over and haven’t found the words yet, or something I needed to hear and didn’t even know it yet. And it’s always somehow wrapped in a hug. 

I just rolled in – what are we going to do today?   //  We live about 25 miles outside of Washington DC  (as the crow flies – which always puzzles me because most of the crows around here seem to circle like hawks do and caw more than fly, but I’m just sayin…).  So I guess it begs the question – do you want to go downtown for a tour or do you want to stay closer to home?  We’d probably hang out here for a little while, have a swim and enjoy watching the twin baby deer that were born in the forest behind our house.  //  I think I will be more than content having a tour of your pool. 🙂Though still little, they like to follow their mom on legs like rickety twigs and take rests in the backyard.  We have lived here for 20 years and realize how lucky we are to be within commuting distance of DC (though it’s a long, stressful, trafficked drive which I did everyday until I retired) and yet still feel so removed from the frenetic activity associated with the District.  We have a ‘homey’ home – friends like to kick off their shoes and just hang awhile.  And Archie and Teddy usually expect a completely unreasonable amount of attention when anyone stops by.

C’mon, that’s just not fair! How can you resist those two, especially since I’ve had to leave my furkid at home. Let’s just not tell him about these two.
It will be better all around.

Later, we’ll go over to the Town Center and see which type of cuisine floats your boat today. Although hardly as exciting as downtown, there’s a wide range of dining options and some shops to wander into when we’re done.

I’d probably opt for Mon Ami Gabi – eating outside because the weather is perfect today, isn’t it?  And they have a great wine list 🙂  Of course, there’s a Barnes & Noble with Starbucks close by – so maybe we can stop there…please?  //  I was going to ask the same thing, yes, of course!  

Even though it was an easier drive from VA to, well VA, I still want to grab a drink with you.   //  Ok, let’s go into Georgetown before you leave, so you can walk around this fun little part of our Nation’s Capitol.  The facades on most of the buildings have remained true to the period of its establishment, so it’s quaint and funky with loads of fun places and side streets to explore.  Will hit the Smithsonian and the Newseum next time you come by.

What question(s) do you have for me while we relax?  //  We’re going to go to Tony & Joe’s in the Washington Harbor for a drink before we head home.  Andy and I had our first (blind) date there. // I can’t tell you how excited I am we are going to Tony & Joes…when we lived in DC, we went there to meet some folks for a boat ride on the Potomac. It was a group we were to meet for the first time [blind date?] and we couldn’t find them [stood up?], so we waited by the bar with a beer. A storm rolled in within minutes [apparently they knew that…] and we grabbed a seat under the overhang, ordered another beer and watched the most specatular lightning storm over the water – we still talk about that like it was yesterday, have described it to our son and wish we could buy tickets to a replay of that show. We never met up with the group, never went for the boat ride, but got something much better in it’s place. I love that you did too.

We’re on the water, the breeze is gentle and a nice glass of Sancerre is definitely in order.  Besides, I’m hoping the wine will loosen your tongue for this is our time to talk about you…

What is your happiest memory to date?  //  The day I found out that I was pregnant with our son Ben.

Your  saddest?  // The day that I knew the end of my mother’s life was nearing; I remember telling my best friend, “this is the beginning of the end, and there is nothing I can do to stop it.”

Other than your family, what gives you the greatest joy?   // Serendipitous moments, witty banter, the sound of my camera shutter, putting words together in ways I hadn’t expected, the feeling of belonging, mountain air on a warm day while riding my bike, my son cracking up, dancing, hearing a song I love while driving with no real rush to get anywhere, alliteration, the ever elusive runner’s high, surprising someone with something I know they will love, our dog when we get home, my son and our dog, fast asleep and snuggled together, hearing my son sing along with the radio when we are driving together,  creative-innovative-inspired change/solutions/ideas.  And long chats with friends.  

So,  I’m pretty hungry after a day of driving and I’ve had my fill of fast food and truck stop food. I  would loooove something home cooked; what would you fix for us to eat? // Back home, I’m making some chicken piccata, mushroom risotto, a green salad and some garlic bread.  I’ve sent you up to grab a shower and a nap before getting on the road.   Once a Jewish mother, always a Jewish mother…  // [ Shhh….she thinks I’m leaving after dinner….]

Before I get back on the road, I’m going to need a good cuppa cuppa to keep me awake for the next part of my drive….where would you take me for my java fix?   // I could send you to Starbucks, but I make a mean cappuccino with my Nespresso maker…Can I tempt you with one of Mimi’s marvels?  I promise you a yummy dessert with it… // Tempt me? Starwhats? Of course, tell you what, I will sit tight right here in your perfect sunroom while you make a Mimi’s marvel for me. 

Tell me one surprising thing I would find out when meeting you for the first time?  //I don’t kow – big heart in a little body?  Autoimmune compromised but reluctant to talk about it?  Pretty happy most of the time.  Decent voice that I still exercise with a little alcohol to allay the nervousness?  That at the core, I’m pretty boring?  🙂  // I remember that came up in one your posts and it was highly protested, me among the crowd. But while I still disagree, I think I understand the notion, and to me that translates to someone real, ready to meet you where you are and fanfare is not required but silliness is always welcome. However, my guess is that when the fun and games get started, you are at the heart of it all. Am I close?

It’s been an awesome stop – I want to take a souvenir home to remember my visit with you  – what should I put in my trunk to take home?  // Souvenir?  Please take home the entire Presidential campaign – both sides I don’t care – most decisions are already made, and all that’s left is the ugliness.  Can you pack it up and take it with you with the understanding that if you head up to New Jersey, you can toss it in a toxic waste dump one you get there? // Ugh…I don’t want it either…can we pull a Thelma & Louise act and together throw the whole thing off the cliff and then drive off into the sunset? I will drop you off at home before I continue along on my journey. Or you could come with, you have a much better singing voice I am sure! 

I’m heading out of the driveway – you toss me a CD  of your favorite tunes to listen to as I roll on down the highway – what is it and what’s your favorite song on it? //My dear wonderful friend Lori at DonnaandDiablo.wordpress.com has made me some terrific cds so I’d make you a blend…a little Sara Bareilles, Melody Gardot, Straight No Chaser, Shelby Lynne…Then I’d load up some James Taylor, Laura Nyro, Jack Johnson and Streisand…I may throw in the Doors “L.A. Woman’ in case your energy begins to wane, Maroon Five, Steve Wonder and Aretha.  // Perfect choices, those are all on my playlists on my iPod. Just the other night I downloaded this Melody Gardot song and not long ago saw Straight No Chaser in concert with several friends. 

…Finding your way out on the open road…

…Going whichever way the wind gon’ go…

Is there anything else you want to say, I’m heading out, gotta hit the road again! // Where are you heading next?  What has your most memorable moment been so far?  Have you had your oil and other fluids checked before you leave?  And do you want to swing by on your way home?  🙂 // The most memorable moment so far, would have to be before I even left CA…when I wrote to each of you that I hoped to stop and ‘visit’.  I got the best response from each of you, such warm welcomes, excitement for the virtual trip idea and the willingness to play a little, get into it with your imaginations.  Thanks for making sure my car is ready to roll, and yes, I would love to swing by on my way home…I’ll call ya from the road! 

 

Mimi,  I left a little something for you, it’s over by your mailbox, to say thank you, for the lovely welcome, the conversation, the warmth. Thank you so much for hosting my stop on my road trip and showing me such great hospitality. As I head out, I need to say goodbye to Archie and Teddy too

As I roll on down the highway, where am I headed next?

It will be my last stop of this road trip!

Here is your next hint:
the first potato  planted in the US was planted here and the first free public library in the United States was established here.
Mashed potatoes and books…sounds like a place for me!

 

Thanks for riding along, and until next time, safe travels of all kinds…

…wheels, heart, mind and soul

35 thoughts on “Going Whichever Way the Wind Gon’ Go…Road Trip!

    • Oh Maggie, that’s the nicest thing you could say…thank you! Me too…it does feel like I’ve traveled there…and my hosts have been more than gracious! Looking forward to my next trip too 😉

      Like

    • Thank you!! It’s been a really great ‘road trip’ and stopping to ‘meet’ Mimi was fabulous – it really felt like I was there! I love the music you put on playlists…same stuff is on my iPod! – great minds… 🙂

      Like

      • It sounds like it, and your writing is so engaging that one can practically feel the wind of the open road! :-). That’s fun that we’re on the same page musically–nothing like a good tune to brighten the day… 🙂

        Like

        • That’s the nicest compliment…thank you! 🙂

          And yes, always good to find and connect with an ‘on the same music page’ friend! What are you listening to today? We’ll be driving up the mountain, so it will be a mix for me!

          Like

  1. Oh Bonnie – I felt like I was there 😀

    YUM! I loved the chicken piccata, mushroom risotto, a green salad and garlic bread!

    Totally looking forward to the next stop – well done 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Dianne!

      I love that you felt like you were there…me too! I had a feeling my ‘road trip’ would be fun, I just didn’t quite know how much! So glad YOU are riding along…there’s plenty of room. How’s your singing? 🙂

      Next stop coming up soon…

      Like

  2. Bon, I KNEW she’d treat you like family. What a wonderful visit, thanks so much for sharing it. This trip of yours is so much fun and what a fantastic idea. Be safe…and can’t wait to read about (maine? my first guess)
    xoxo
    R

    Like

  3. Oh Bon, come back soon! I miss you already…thank you for coming by, the door is always open for your return trip. Sheets are clean, coffee is on, and the pool will be open for another month or so…sending you love and hugs, me

    Like

  4. my fave part of the road trip so far! i have loved following you on this trip it was such an excellent idea and of course now you have met my gorgeous friend mims it was so lovely! i really feel like we have had a visit to her home and now even though i dont like coffee i really want one! thank you both for sharing this and thank you bonnie for having such a brilliant idea i am really looking forward to your next stop have a fantastic trip 🙂

    Like

    • Kizzy – wasnt’ that just great! I am so glad you are following me along my road trip! yay! I love having a caravan for this journey and friends in my car. It does feel like I have really been there, and I love that Mimi, and my other hosts, really welcomed me! That coffee sounds divine..I bet you will convert! 🙂 One more stop, on THIS road trip 😉 xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

