Comfort Creatures

“There is no happiness like that of being loved by your fellow creatures, and feeling that your presence is an addition to their comfort.” 

― Charlotte Brontë

Change and transition are not easy for the strongest among us, and perhaps take their greatest toll on the smallest of us.  In times of upheaval and transition, we are comforted by the familiar, the known, the safe. We want to be surrounded by what  we know and those whom we trust.  The familiar.

My son is truly a trooper and has given me glimpses of what he’s made of.  He’s smart, sensitive, intuitive and well, all the same, a nine year old boy.  The kind who loves to throw a football, giggle at bad words, deliver a curve-ball over the plate, get lost in video games.

And hang with his dudes.

To help ease some of the bigness of life, I got a few of his guys over for a sleep-over this last weekend. It’s called a sleep-over, but really, the boys were just over. Of course, there was some sleep involved, just not a whole lot. My Sunday morning began around 0-six-hundred as I heard something much louder than pitter-patter on the wood floor above me.

sleepover2These are boys that my kiddo has known since baby days and kinder days.

One thing I know, he knows how to pick good friends.

sleepover4

The time together included dinner in the dark on the sidewalk out in front of the house; al fresco style complete with a flashlight.

Crazy made up games.

Laughing.

Challenges and contests.

Roasting marshmallows over the grill.

Silliness. Pure silliness.

Races in the living room with carpet skates.

A picnic style breakfast while watching YouTube on the tube.

sleepover3

It’s clear to me, these boys are comfort creatures to my boy. They give him a place to belong. A place where his name is known and his laugh is met with more laughter. A place to trust himself to be nothing but himself.

How young it starts, when we begin to make such a difference in the lives of others.  If only these boys knew the importance of their presence. In time. In time.

signature2

17 thoughts on “Comfort Creatures

  1. Bonnie: I just loved this post! It’s so true that we all need a place to belong. BTW: As a veteran mom of girl sleepovers, it’s good to know the boy sleepovers don’t involve a whole lot of sleep either!

    Like

  2. What a fabulous time they must have had, Bonnie! My boys did the same things and now in their twenties they still have the same friends. I know as they age they will remain firm friends and stand by each other through thick and thin. It’s such a beautiful thing 😀

    Like

    • Dianne, I love that, hearing that your boys are still friends with the same boys. I hope the same is true for my guy! It’s great to watch them you are right! 🙂

      Like

  3. I love Mimi’s image of the boys tumbling around like puppies, and I love YOU for giving them a fun place to do just that! Your posts always make me feel like I’m right there with you, Bon. Consider this a real-life, non-virtual hug from me! xo.

    Like

    • Isn’t that great..I had 4 puppies running through my house for the night. It was so fun to have them over and watching them have a complete blast with each other. Thanks for your comment, about feeling like you are right here – that’s theee best! Just like you! Hugs back at you! 🙂 xo

      Like

  4. You are *so wise* to provide your son with this mooring place in the midst of some much change, Bonnie. This post made me cry because your love for this child and your desire to protect and nurture him through uncertainty are palpable. You, my friend, are amazing…. xo

    Like

    • Ahh, Lori, thank you! Your response brings a tear to me – that you could get it, and feel it – the desire to protect my kiddo, even when I know I can’t fully or wholly, but that can be right there, letting him know that I see him through all of this. You are a treasure. xo

      Like

  5. I can hear their laughter, as they race through the house and tumble around like puppies. I think they know how important they are to each other, even now. They are each a part of the narrative upon which they are building their stories. And what a wonderful backdrop you are providing for your amazing son. Clearly that apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. xo

    Like

    • Yes, of course you could hear them! I love how you say that they are part of the same narrative – they are all part of each other’s story, that is perfect!! It will be magical to watch the story unfold over the years. xox

      Like

Leave a Reply

