I Left My Heart in…

…San Francisco.

Despite the accuracy of Mark Twain’s famous line about the chilly summers in San Francisco,ย  there is just something about that city that makes me catch my breath. And it’s just always hard to leave.

After a rainy, damp and, almost wintery morning, I found myself bidding a fond farewell as we drove through the hilly, bustling streets to our next destinations.

But first…

…a walk through the summer of love. Try explaining the significance of the Haight to a nine year old…

image

…Getting a view from above it all…

image

The de Young Museum

…And seeing the forest for the trees…

image

Golden Gate Park

And then it was time to buckle up, turn up the tunes and plug in the GPS.

On the way from point A to point B we found…

image

A PEZ museum! Who knew!? And the worlds largest Pez dispenser…

image

We asked Google maps where we should go next and guess what? We went to Google!

image

image

image

Google employees ride these all throughout the massive campus.

No inside tours or photos are allowed at Googleplex (I tried!), but we caught a glimpse of a tubular slide two stories hight, in the staff lounge area! Needless to say, this made an impression on The Kiddo.

We are tucked in for the night, after making our way to the beach to spend some time with friends, ready for tomorrow’s adventures.

image

CA DREAMIN’ TRAVEL TRIVIA QUESTION #2
(2pts) True or False?

California produces more than 17 million gallons of wine each year.

Until next time, safe travels: wheels, heart, mind and soul.

Bonnie & The Kiddo

25 thoughts on “I Left My Heart in…

  1. Who knew?!?!?! A PEZ museum!?!?!? What kind did you eat? I would love to tour the Google place….We actually have a Google plant near us (Pryor, OK)….I went to try and locate it and could only find their “security officer”. Thanks for taking us along with you guys!! FUN! Fun! FUN! ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs

    Like

  2. only been in san fran once, but it made quite an impression. Did you find Humphry Slocombe? Love all the hills especially. And Chinatown.

    Seeing your Google photo and hearing you’ve been there, I feel as if my googling the answer is now entirely appropriate. The answer is in Q 8 and the rest of the information is fun, too. http://wine.about.com/od/winetrivia/a/winetrivia.htm

    Happy travels, Bon, and I’m hoping you happen upon a cherry sour ball factory next!

    Like

    • Oh gosh, it was SO on my list, even had the address plugged into my Google maps/GPS but just ran out of time! Next time for sure!

      And yes, the Googling was MOST appropriate!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. I’m guessing “true” too, because my sense of geography is even worse than Mimi’s and because it’s Friday, and 17 million gallons of wine sound good to me !!!

    Like

  4. Wow…what an impact this could have on kiddo’s future…no, seriously…not all fun mamma bear, you are opening a world of possibilities. Such a great idea, this magical mystery tour as Lori calls it. So loving the drive along (we need more candy tho…okay, I need to GET more candy-did you happen to sock some PEZ away?) Onward B and B….whoohoo
    oh…my guess is true, but really? thought it would have been more! I’m pretty sure they export at least 1/2 of that to my house. :/

    Like

    • Hi Rhonda! Yes…we talked about what it would be like to work at a place like Google someday, and The Kiddo’s eyes sure widened!

      We DO need more candy…our stash is depleting quickly!! And yes, stocked up on some PEZ!

      the other half goes to my house…. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Hi Lori! LOVING the soundtrack! As we left SF, the song all about the city started playing…it was simply perfect!! And, funny that you say magical mystery tour…The Kiddo decided to let me surprise him with each step along the way so we are jokingly calling it Mamas Mystery Tour … ๐Ÿ™‚

      Lots of wine in CA!!

      Like

      • Oh yeah! I am so tickled to hear that you’re enjoying it. :-). And since I happily sent it off sans liner notes, it’s full of surprises for the time being as well… ๐Ÿ˜‰ enjoy, Bon! Xox

        Like

  5. Lovin’ this travelogue…and love that you and the kiddo are adventuring together..I’ll guess ‘true’ because I have no concept of numbers (or geography)…xoxo

    Like

    • Hi Mims….thanks for riding along with us for this little adventure! I love your process of elimination on the trivia….wink wink! ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

