A Castle, A Campus and A Coast

Hello Roadies!

Though we are out of cherry sours, and may have slowed our pace ever so slightly, the adventures continue and the road trip carries on…

…a castle …
We spent a day looking into the lives of the rich and famous in an era gone by. Hearst Castle, visioned and built by none other than William Randolph Hearst is nothing short of opulent, stunning and rich with detail. It took 28 years to complete the masterpiece!

image

Hearst Castle

image

The Neptune Pool – come for a swim!

…a campus…
Our next stop was a look back and a look forward. We visited the university I attended for my graduate program. It was a study in contrasts – witnessing the incredible changes made on the campus over the years since my last visit, contrasted with the parts that remain not only unchanged but incredibly familiar; it was exciting to see the improvements and comforting to feel at home. But, it wasnt just a stroll down memory lane, it was also seeing it through the eyes of my friend who now works for this university and will be part of future change and so many young lives. And… exposing The Kiddo to life on a campus and all that his future may hold.

image

The halls of academia

image

My old building, with a ‘fresh’ face!

image

Kiddo, I can just ‘see’ you here!

…a coast…

And yet another study in contrasts; one coastline but two different experiences. Just minutes apart but one is socked in with a freezing damp marine layer and the other glimmering in the sunshine. We have one more day in this seaside gem, guess which beach we are choosing?!

image

Pismo Beach

image

Avila Beach

And now, for your
CA DREAMIN’ TRAVEL TRIVIA QUESTION #5 (4pts)

…Googling encouraged… πŸ™‚

Hearst Castle took 28 years to complete, and was designed by the famous and foremost female architect in California. Who was she?

A. Julia Morgan
B. Julia Roberts
C. Julia Stiles

The Road Trip is nearing the end of the road, but we may have one or two things still up our sleeves…you will just have to keep riding along! We love having you along for the ride πŸ™‚

Until next time, you know..
Safe travels: wheels, heart, mind and soul.

Bonnie & The Kiddo

24 thoughts on “A Castle, A Campus and A Coast

  1. Nice, Bonnie. Love that you and Kiddo are bonding over so many awesome things: cherry sours, alma maters, beaches, board games, castles (J Morgan), etc. He has one lucky mom πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I do feel like one lucky mom to have shared this experience with my little guy. We had such fun; adventures, laughs and such memories to savor!

      Let the tallying begin…answers and winners revealed soon! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I’m not guessing and I’m late to the road trip today – but I’ve enjoyed it no less, and delight in your travels with the Kiddo. Of no less pleasure is the sheer joy I feel as you spend this time together on the road. It’s contagious Bon and I feel the happiness as palpably as any pothole, change in road surface or transition from beach to city..xo

    Like

  3. LOVE bein’ a roadie with you and the Kiddo, Bonnie–you are a *great* tour guide. πŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted to see the Hearst castle–your photos just bumped it up a few notches on the ole’ bucket list. And as for the answer to today’s quiz, I’m not going to *act* like I know the answer or *dance* around the question, I’ll just go with ‘A.’ πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hi Lori! You are a fantastic roadie!! Glad you have enjoyed the tour of parts of CA – and so happy that Hearst Castle is on your bucket list! I lived in that area for 8 years and never went…I had to go as a *tourist* – but the timing was perfect! And, answers to be revealed soon! xo

      Like

  4. You are SUCH a cool tour guide. And I’m not googling (and I’ve missed a question or two already) but I’m guessing A. Julia Morgan. πŸ™‚

    Like

      • Dang is right! But SOMEBODY has to do it, and SOMEBODY gets paid to do it and SOMEBODY loves their job….wanna be SOMEBODY BonBon?
        (need an assistant’s assitant?)

        Like

  5. Ooh oooh! A! A!! I pick A !!! πŸ˜€

    Have I told you lately how much I’m loving being on this roadtrip with you and The Kiddo? Your photos and stories continue to be all kinds of wonderful and I continue to feel all kinds of lucky that you’re choosing to share it with us!

    xooox

    Like

    • Yay!! I love that, thank you!! It makes me all abubbly that you are loving the road trip!! Its all kinds of extra fun with an awesome travel companion!! Xo

      Like

  6. So awesome you took The Kiddo to UCSB and the beach towns of the Central Coast. He will remember this trip forever, as you will. Happy Travels and no I’m not answering the ? out of protest because it’s too damned easy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

